The XI International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians will be held in one of the fastest growing cities in the People’s Republic of China – Chengdu in April 2020. Over the past 28 years since the first competition, it has been held 10 times – in Russia, Europe and Asia, always becoming the brightest event in international cultural life. Each past competition will forever remain in the hearts of the participants, spectators and organizers. We have no doubt that the capital of Sichuan Province will welcome participants and guests of the contest with dignity! 

The International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians is the largest independent professional contest among young talents. The Competition consists of three sections: Piano, Violin and Cello.

The original formula of the Competition is that it is held in different countries, which gives young musicians from all around the world a unique opportunity to participate in this prestigious contest. Its natural ties with the International Tchaikovsky Competition (winners of the Youth Competition participate in the adult one), great number, technical and artistic level of all contestants, most difficult competition repertoire, authoritative jury boards, great interest among public and wide media coverage – all these facts allow to call the International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians the most prestigious international youth contest in the world.

The main objective of the competition is educational. With the help from pedagogues, young musicians prepare complicated repertoire, which lays the foundation for future professional mastery. The Competition provides talented young artists the opportunity to demonstrate their skills to wide audience – about 1200 contestants from 37 countries took part in the last 7 contests, 3000+ musicians participated in preliminary auditions, more than 80000 spectators got acquainted with interpretations executed by the participants, heard opinions of authoritative musicians and critics. Moreover, educational nature of the Competition is reaffirmed by establishing special awards for best teachers, inclusion of lectures, master-classes and exhibitions into the competition program.

1992 Moscow RU
1995 Sendai JP
1997 Saint Petersburg RU
2002 Xiamen CN
2004 Kurashiki JP
2009 Suwon KR
2012 Montreux-Vevey CH
2014 Moscow RU
2015 Novosibirsk RU
2017 Nur-Sultan KZ
2020 Chendu CN