A press conference on the opening of the IX International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians (December 5-15, Novosibirsk) was held in the press center of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation on November 25, 2015. The press conference was attended by the rector of the Moscow State Conservatory, Professor Aleksander Sokolov, Director of the Central Music School of the Moscow Conservatory, Professor Vladimir Ovchinnikov, General Director of the Association of Tchaikovsky Competition Stars Andrey Scherbak, Deputy DirectorGeneral of the Interstate Corporation for Development Sergey Demensky and the President of the Foundation for the Support of the classic musical art “Muses – to the World” Boris Rubin.

“Unlike “the big” Tchaikovsky Competition, this Competition migrates. It has been held in so many countries. The last took place in Moscow and was an “overture” to “the big” Competition. I intentionally use the word “overture”, bearing in mind that many of those who successfully performed in the Youth Competition, then succeeded in “the big” one” – said the Chairman of the Organizing Committee of the Competition, Aleksander Sokolov. The high level of the Competition was also noted by the pianist and Jury Chairman of the piano section, Vladimir Ovchinnikov. “During the four years that I’m at the head of the Central Music School, I can say that the participation of our children in competitions is a very serious issue. And the problem is not only in increasing their number, but in their quality as well. We strive to maintain high standards. Youth Tchaikovsky Competition is promoting the name of the Russian composer throughout the world”, – he said.

This year’s Competition will be held under the slogan “joining the efforts together we define the future”. As of today, 130 participants from 23 countries are allowed to take part in the Competition. It received more than 250 applications from 27 countries. The winners will receive commemorative medals, and the winners of the first prize – a cash prize of $5,000.

The jury consists of 29 musicians and musical culture figures of Russia, Belarus, Armenia, France, Italy, Sweden, Hungary, Israel, China, South Korea, Japan and the United States. Jury Chairman of the piano section is Vladimir Ovchinnikov, violin section – Sergey Kravchenko, cello section – Maria Tchaikovskaya.

The International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians, founded in 1992 – is the largest professional competition for young musicians under the age of 17 years. The competition is held on thee specialties: piano, violin, cello. In 2015, the year of the 175th Anniversary of the birth of the great Russian composer Pyotr Tchaikovsky is the first time the competition will be held in Novosibirsk this December. The competition is organized by: Ministry of Culture of the Novosibirsk region, the Association of Tchaikovsky Competition Stars and Interstate Corporation for Development.

25 ноября 2015 года в пресс-центре Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации прошла пресс-конференция, посвященная предстоящему открытию IX Международного конкурса имени П.И.Чайковского (5-15 декабря, Новосибирск). В пресс-конференции приняли участие ректор Московской государственной консерватории, профессор Александр Соколов, директор Центральной музыкальной школы при Московской консерватории, профессор Владимир Овчинников, генеральный директор Ассоциации лауреатов Международного конкурса имени П.И.Чайковского Андрей Щербак, заместитель генерального директора Межгосударственной корпорации развития Сергей Деменский и Президент фонда поддержки классического музыкального искусства «Музы — Миру» Борис Рубин.

«В отличие от взрослого конкурса Чайковского, этот конкурс — мигрирующий. Он побывал в очень многих странах. Прошлый проходил в Москве и был увертюрой к взрослому конкурсу. Я специально говорю «увертюра», имея ввиду, что многие из тех, кто показывают себя на юношеском конкурсе, потом добиваются успеха и на взрослом» — отметил Председатель Организационного комитета конкурса Александр Соколов. Отметил высокий уровень конкурса и пианист, председатель жюри конкурса по специальности «фортепиано» Владимир Овчинников. «За те четыре года, которые я возглавляю ЦМШ, я могу сказать, что проблема участия наших детей в конкурсах — очень серьезная. И она не только в увеличении их количества, но и в их качестве. Мы стараемся поддерживать высокую планку. Юношеский конкурс продвигает имя Чайковского по всему миру», — сказал он.

В этом году конкурс пройдет под лозунгом «объединяя усилия, определяем будущее». На сегодняшний день к участию в конкурсе допущены 130 участников из 23 стран. Было подано более 250 заявок из 27 стран. Победители конкурса получат памятные медали, а обладатели первой премии — денежный приз в размере 5 тыс. долларов.

В состав жюри вошли 29 музыкантов и деятелей музыкальной культуры из России, Белоруссии, Армении, Франции, Италии, Швеции, Венгрии, Израиля, Китая, Южной Кореи, Японии и США. Председателем жюри по специальности «фортепиано» стал Владимир Овчинников, по специальности «скрипка» — Сергей Кравченко, «виолончель» — Мария Чайковская.

Международный юношеский конкурс им. П.И. Чайковского, основанный в 1992 году, – крупнейшее профессиональное соревнование для молодых музыкантов в возрасте до 17 лет. Конкурс проводится по специальностям: фортепиано, скрипка, виолончель. В 2015 году – в Год празднования 175-летия со дня рождения великого русского композитора Петра Ильича Чайковского – конкурс впервые пройдет в Новосибирске. Организаторы конкурса: Министерство культуры Новосибирской области, Ассоциация лауреатов Международного конкурса им. П.И. Чайковского, Межгосударственная корпорация развития.