December 5th 2015, in the year of 175th anniversary of Pyotr Tchaikovsky, the IX International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians is going to take place in Novosibirsk. 127 young musicians from 22 countries will participate: from Russia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Ukraine, Belarus, Kazakhstan, the UK, France, Italy, Germany, Austria, Denmark, Croatia, Romania, Korea, China, Japan, Mongolia, USA, Canada, Israel and Australia.

Minister of foreign affairs of Russian Federation Sergei Lavrov and minister of culture of Russian Federation Vladimir Medinski have sent their welcoming words to the participants, guests and the organizing committee of IX  International Tchaikovsky Competition for young musicians.

«As an integral part of the rich cultural heritage of our country, Tchaikovsky music invariably states high ideals in art. We hope that the 175th anniversary of the great Russian composer is marked with bright performances, the discovery of new talents.», – Mr. Lavrov said.

«this global music forum which brought together young participants from over 20 countries will be an important event in the life of each of them. Based of previous experience, many of the participants and laureates will reach high professional results, successfully performed at the legendary International Tchaikovsky Competition. This natural connection between the two competitions benefits both the creative development of participants and
the entire musical culture of Russia.»
, – Mr. Medinsky remarked.

The Competition is organized by the Association of Tchaikovsky Competition Stars, Novosibirsk Region Ministry of Culture and Interstate corporation for development.

The jury panel has 29 musicians from Russian, Belarus, Armenia, France, Italy, Sweden, Hungary, Israel, China, Korea, Japan and the US. The chairman of the jury in the “piano” section is the People’s Artist of Russia, professor of Moscow Conservatory and the principal of Moscow Conservatory’s Central Music School Vladimir Ovchinnikov; the chairman of the jury for the violin player is the Honoured Artist of RSFSR, professor of Moscow Conservatory and violinist Sergei Kravchenko; the head of the cello section jury panel is the People’s Artist of Russia, Honored Artist of Ukrainian SSR, Moscow Conservatory professor cellist Maria Tchaikovskaya.

The opening, closing ceremony, the third Tour and the gala-concert will be held in the Arnold Katz State concert hall. The finalists are going to perform accompanied by two symphonic orchestras: Novosibirsk Academic Symphonic Orchestra (Honored Artist of Russia Yury Tkachenko is the conductor) and State Academic Symphonic Orchestra of Belarus (conductor — Honored Artist of Russia, People’s Artist of Belarus, Belarus State Award laureat, Russia’s National theatre award “The Golden Mask”, French National Award “Odre national du Merite” Commandor Alexander Anissimov. The winners will be announced on December 5th 2015.

International Tchaikovsky Competition for young Musicians, that first took place in 1992, is the largest professional competition for young musicians under 17 years old. The Competition has three sections: piano, violin, cell. In 2015 —  the year of 175-year Petr Tchaikovsky anniversary celebration — the competition is held in the city of Novosibirsk for the first time.